pasobbenefits.blogg.se

Chungking express movie poster redesign
Chungking express movie poster redesign










chungking express movie poster redesign

They are so vulnerable, sincere, and hurt by their exiles from love, that they come off as outsiders looking in, outsiders who are too far removed to see the possibilities of love everywhere around them.Īs the film progresses, this changes. Even though Cop 223 (Kaneshiro), and Cop 663 (Leung) are, at times in the film, too obsessed with past relationships to fully grow, there is something beautiful and intimate in the ways they behave when they are alone with this unfamiliar feeling of loneliness. The film is rooted in romance, and the longing for romance. And after watching it, I felt as though love was coursing through my own veins. The first half feels like a crime-thriller and love-story wannabe, while the second half feels like a fantastical rom-com. The fascinating thing about Chungking Express is that it actually feels like two separate movies in one. The film is set in bustling Hong Kong in the 90s and brilliantly captures the loneliness often felt by 20 somethings in big cities. Both end up seeking love in surreal and fast-paced women ( Brigitte Lin, Faye Wong) just around the block. Perhaps the effects of this film were just extra potent because of the fact that I’ve been watching less and less movies with every week of college that passes, but after watching the opening scene, I felt genuinely excited about movies again for the first time in a while.Ĭhungking Express follows two cops ( Takeshi Kaneshiro, Tony Leung Chiu-wai) who’ve recently broken up with long-time girlfriends and find that love is nowhere to be found, but also somehow everywhere they look. I can with a clear conscience say that I whole-heartedly loved this movie.

chungking express movie poster redesign

This certainly was not the case for Wong Kar-wai’s 1994 film Chungking Express. Sometimes I worry that I might be too biased by my high or low expectations for a film, its director, or its reception, to fully experience it and be able to form my own thought-out opinion. It was my first time watching one of cult-classic director Wong Kar-wai’s films. This week, I experienced something I will never forget, and no, it was not my first week of several college exams.












Chungking express movie poster redesign